Judson University Announces D. Ray Wilson Award Nominees | Judson University Christian College
Judson University Announces D. Ray Wilson Award Nominees

(Elgin, IL - April 30, 2013) Judson University is pleased to announce the finalized nominations for the D. Ray Wilson Award, to be presented at Judson University's 2013 Community Prayer Breakfast on Wednesday, May 8 in the Lindner Fitness Center (1151 N. State St., Elgin).

The D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award is given to the candidate who has contributed to the greater good within the Fox Valley community by voluntarily serving others' physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual needs. This year's nominees are Brian Borkowicz, Tricia Dieringer, Mary Rees Freemna, John William (Bill) Kennedy, and Susan Moylan.

Brian Borkowicz, nominated by Craig Stokely, has served many organizations in the Fox Valley for more than 10 years. He served as president of the Elgin Rotary Club and volunteered as a camping coordinator with the Boy Scouts. He has also served the Elgin Food Pantry, volunteered with the Eckert Center and participated with the Elgin Sustainability working group.

Tricia Dieringer, nominated by Barbara Keselica, has dedicated herself to honoring the Patriotic Days and Veterans within the Fox Valley. She served for 16 years with the Elgin Patriotic Memorial Association, six years with the Elgin Image Commission, five years with the Elgin Public Health Commission. She has volunteered for 10 years at American Legion serving in roles such as Sgt. At Arms Commander, Finance Officer, Americanism Chair, Medical Officer, Assistant Department Officer, Kane County Commander and 11th District Commander. She has also volunteered at the Church of the Redeemer’s Soup Kitchen, PADS and the Salvation Army. She has assisted in many Veteran’s Day Programs and Eagles Organizations as well as many community events around the Fox Valley. She recently received the Grace and Dignity Award.

Mary Rees Freeman, nominated by Felicia King, has served on the boards and in volunteer positions for Altrusa International Club of Elgin for 10 years, Elgin; on the board and as past president of the Village of South Elgin Parks and Recreation Commissioner; on the board and as past president for the YWCA in Elgin for 13 years; and as a volunteer for the Soup Kettle and Emergency Shelter Committee for the Elgin Cooperative Ministries for 15 years. She also has served on the board of the League of Women Voters, as PTO Board Officer at Kimball Middle School and PTO secretary at Willard Elementary School. She has received the Woman of the Year award from Elgin Jr. Woman’s Club, Rookie of the Year Nomination from Altrusa International and Exceptional Community Project Volunteer for Epworth Church. In addition to these roles, she also has served as the Aquatics Director for Fox River Country Day School in Elgin and the ESL Coordinator and Senior and Wellness Program Coordinator for YWCA Elgin.

John William Kennedy, nominated by Dr. Richard Clossman, taught junior high science for 35 years and has served various agencies in the Fox Valley for many years. For 15 years he has volunteered with PADS, 10 years with Means on Wheels and five years each with Wayside Cross of Elgin and the Interfaith Food Pantry. As part of the Pantry Board he has been volunteer coordinator for the Golden K. Kiwanis Club distributing food to clients and organizing volunteers. He picks up food donations from vendors and brings them to distribution points. He has assisted individuals in getting back on their feet and becoming productive members of the community.

Susan Moylan, nominated by Mirian Lytle, has served the City of Elgin through her leadership on the Planning Commission, City Council and Elgin Image Advisory Commission. She has served on the board and as president for the United Way of Elgin, as Committee Chair of the Elgin Chamber of Commerce and President of the Rotary Club of Elgin. She currently is a volunteer and elected trustee to the Gail Borden Public Library. She has received the Harriet Gifford Award from the YWCA, the MVP for Community Service from Elgin Community College. She also is a 31-year member of St. Thomas More Church.

Dr. Gene C. Crume Jr., Judson University's new president, will be the keynote speaker for this year's prayer breakfast. Tickets for the event are $18 for individuals. Table sponsorships can be purchased for $350, which includes recognition and a table reservation for eight guests. Register for the event at www.judsonu.edu/PrayerBreakfast.

Judson University, Shaping Lives that Shape the World