Parking & Registration
Vehicles may be registered at the Campus Safety Office (located in the University Center) 24/7. If you wish to register after normal office hours (8:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m.), simply call 847-622-9999 and we will be glad to assist you.
*All new vehicles brought on campus must be registered.
- Procedure: Every motor vehicle parked or driven on campus must be registered. A valid driver's license and proof of insurance must be presented during registration. Failure to register your vehicle could result in your car being immobilized with a "boot" until registered with Campus Safety ($50 immobilization fee applies). If an immobilized vehicle is not registered within 14 days of being immobilized, the vehicle will be towed at the owner's expense by Pete's A Towing.
- Fee: Per Semester - $60 for cars, $20 for motorcycles
*All registration and parking violation fees are charged directly to your student account.
*Your vehicle must be registered within one week of arriving on campus*
- Permit Stickers: Must be displayed in lower corner of the driver's side rear window. For vehicles with heavy tint, permit can be displayed in corner of front windshield.
Permit sticker colors indicate lot assignments.
- Open Lots: The Fitness Center front and rear lots are open 24/7 to all permits and so are the Lindner Tower north and south lots and Creekside lot (accessible from Jerusha Road via Rt. 31). The Ohio Hall, Wilson Hall, and Volkman Hall resident parking lots are only open to other permits on weekends from 5:00 p.m. Friday until 5:00 p.m. Sunday.
- Commuter Lots - Commuter lots are reserved for commuter permits only but are open to all other permits on weeknights from 5:00 p.m. until 3:00 a.m. and weekends from 5:00pm Friday until 3:00am Monday, unless otherwise posted.
- Staff: Staff lots are only open weeknights from 5:00pm until 3:00am and weekends from 5:00 p.m. Friday until 3:00 a.m. Monday.
- Closed: Roadways/fire lanes, driveways, landscaped islands, grass areas, walkways, and specifically reserved parking spaces. If there is a reason you need to park a vehicle in one of these restricted areas you must obtain advance permission from Campus Safety.
- Visitors: reserved for visitors from off-campus on weekdays between 5:00 p.m. and 3:00 a.m. Students may use these spaces on evenings and weekends from 5:00 p.m. Friday until 3:00 a.m Monday
- Carpool Parking - There are 9 carpool spaces in front oh HAWAC. There is a 12 hour maximum time limit for vehicles parked in these spaces. This time limit will not be enforced until new signs are posted.
- Maintenance - Maintenance parking spaces are reserved from 3:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. for authorized personnel.
- 10 and 15 Minute spaces: Reserved as loading zones or for short errands. The 10 minute parking spaces at the Lindner Commons are intended for students wishing to check their mail or visit the campus bookstore. These spaces should not be used by persons dining in the cafeteria.
- Tickets 1-4 $25 fine per violation
- Ticket 5 $50 fine
- Tickets 6+ $50 fine or vehicle is towed by Pete's-A-Towing at cost to vehicle owner, possible revocation of campus parking privileges
Drivers on campus are expected to operate their vehicles in a safe and legal manner in accordance with the Illinois Vehicle Code. Drivers are expected to obey campus stop and yield signs, exercise caution near pedestrian crossing areas, obey the 15 mph campus speed limit, not drive on the wrong side of the road, not drive on campus grassy areas or sidewalks or foot bridges, and in general demonstrate concern for the safety of themselves and others when operating their vehicles. Drivers who are witnessed by Campus Safety operating their vehicle in a reckless or unsafe manner may be subject to a $25 fine as well as possible revocation of campus vehicle privileges.
Citation appeals must be made within the same semester of receiving the violation, and must be made using an official appeal form.
Appeals will be collected by Campus Safety and will be brought before a parking appeal committee once per month. This committee's membership consists of representation from Campus Safety, Student Development, faculty, and the student body. The committee's decision regarding appeals will be considered final.
You can download the PDF Document version and you can also appeal using an online form. Copies of the appeal form are also in the Campus Safety Office.
There is no charge to appeal a parking violation. Appeals will be reviewed by an appeal committee that meets once per month. No appeal can be made on a citation after the semester has ended.
If you have a parking-related question please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org