Prayer Breakfast Award Nominees | Judson University Christian College
Judson University Announces the 2019 D. Ray Wilson and Bea Wilson Volunteer Service Awards 

(ELGIN, IL – May 1, 2019) Judson University announces the nominees for its annual D. Ray Wilson and Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Awards. Both awards will be presented at the Community Prayer Breakfast on Wednesday, May 8, 2019, which will be hosted at the Love Family Christian Foundation (315 Chicago St., Elgin).

The D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award is awarded to the adult candidate who has contributed to the greater good within the Fox Valley community by voluntarily serving others' physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual needs. Last year, Judson created the new Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service award and scholarship to recognize the community service work of high school freshmen, sophomores and juniors in the Fox Valley.

The 2019 D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award nominees are:

JULIE BOLSTER of St. Charles, Ill., volunteers for a number of organizations. At Anderson Animal Shelter, Julie regularly cares for critically ill animals and contributes to educational and outreach programs for the shelter. She led a team to collect 1,000 lbs. of food for the Northern Illinois Food Bank in one week and has been part of corn-picking activities for the organization. She has served as a Cub Scout leader for five years and is on the Social Committee for Fox Mill, which hosts neighborhood events and social service projects. She also plans the Fox Mill 5K race and manages all the volunteers.

Retired from Elgin Mental Health Center in 2002, WILLIAM BRISKA of Elgin, Ill., has served for more than 15 years in leadership roles with the Elgin Area Historical Society, Gifford Park Association, the City of Elgin Heritage Commission, and the City of Elgin Strategic Plan Advisory Commission. He has been a key proponent in the creation and funding of several local and traveling exhibits, including Project 2-3-1, Jewish Experience in Elgin, Deep Roots, Green Future: City Planning in Elgin, Circle of Time (about the Elgin National Watch Factory) and Dairies to Prairies.

Prolific volunteers, CAROLE AND DON BURRIS of Elgin, Ill., have served with U-46 high school outreach programs, the Kane County State Attorney’s Office Pre-Trial Diversion Second Chance Board, Elgin Community Crisis Center, PTO Boards for Highland and Hillcrest Elementary School, Kimball Middle School and Larkin High School. They have also served at Children’s Theatre of Elgin/Fox Valley Youth Theatre. Their work at Epworth United Methodist Church has included serving on mission trips and contributing to many social service agencies throughout the area.

NANCY HAGGARD of Elgin, Ill., is retiring after 21 years as the volunteer coordinator at Gail Borden Library, having recruited and trained more than 300 volunteers for various events. She is an avid volunteer, also serving at Taylor YMCA, Highland and Creekside Elementary Schools, the Elgin Community Crisis Center and her church.

A retired sports editor for the Chicago Tribune, JIM HARDING of Streamwood, Ill., has volunteered for Streamwood Little League, Crossroads Kids Club, Willow Creek Care Center, Elevate Jr. High Ministry, and as a charity runner and fundraiser for World Vision. He also joined Mercy Home for Boys and Girls in 2016 as coordinator of the Heroes Program. In 2017, he created a “50K in One Day” fundraiser for this 50th birthday.

A retired nurse, SUSAN JACOBS of Streamwood, Ill., has volunteered for nine years at Habitat for Humanity’s ReStore in Elgin. She annually volunteers to serve as a nurse on foreign mission trips. Her mission work has included storm clean-up, providing clean drinking water to communities in need and providing vaccinations for children. She also helps find accommodations for flood victims in the Midwest through the American Red Cross.

VIVIAN MALY of Elgin, Ill., has volunteered for several years for the Boy Scouts of America, Kaneland School District and Right to Life of Kane County. In 1996, she helped to launch the TLC Pregnancy Services in Elgin, serving as a volunteer executive director and raising funds to purchase a building for the center. Now, services at TLC have expanded to include 16 part-time employees, helping hundreds of young women monthly by providing free clinical services such as pregnancy tests, limited obstetrical ultrasounds and STD facilitation to low-income women and families. In 2010, TLC began a mobile service and now serves areas in Hoffman Estates, Roselle, Hanover Park and Streamwood.

DR. DAVID SAM of Streamwood, Ill., is president of Elgin Community College and has volunteered on boards for the Elgin Area Chamber of Commerce, United Way of Elgin, Greater Elgin Area YMCA and Amita Presence St. Joseph Hospital. He is a founding member of the Alignment Collaborative for Education. He also serves on the Rotary Club of Elgin and a number of workforce and education advisory committees at the local, regional, state and federal level. He has received more than 20 awards and honors for his leadership within the higher education and community college arena as well as many recognitions for his service. Under his leadership, ECC has been recognized for its many achievements and innovations.

A senior at Bartlett High School, ROHAN SHAH of West Chicago, Ill., created School District U-46’s first student-led, STEM-focused mentoring program called Mentors for Tomorrow. The program started at the SAFE after-school program and is now operating at three different schools, providing activities, tutoring and mentoring. He is also involved in Boy’s Swim and Tennis teams, is captain of National Honor Society and serves on many other academic and student leadership programs. He plans on pursuing a degree in medicine from Northwestern University next year and interns for four different medical organizations.

The Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award recognizes freshmen through juniors in high school for voluntarily performing community work that serves others’ physically, emotionally, intellectually or spiritually. The Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award winner will receive a $3,000 scholarship annually to attend Judson University. The 2019 Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award nominee is:

KYLEE SIERS of Elgin, Ill., is a junior honor student at Westminster Christian, student ambassador at Westminster and at Westminster Presbyterian Church, representative on Student Council, captain of the soccer team, winner of the ACSI Creating Writing Contest, member of the National Honors Society and Community Outreach Club. She regularly volunteers at Illinois Park School, a public at-risk preschool in Elgin. She is also involved with community service for the homeless at Vineyard Church.

Join us for Judson’s Community Prayer Breakfast on May 8 at 7:30 a.m., featuring a keynote presentation by Dr. Lawrence Drake, a Judson Trustee and global business leader.

Make your reservations to attend now. Individual ticket prices are $30. Nonprofit/Individual Table Sponsorships are $500. To purchase tickets, visit:

Judson University, Shaping Lives that Shape the World