D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award | Judson University Christian College
Prayer Breakfast Banner 2021
Ray Wilson

D. Ray Wilson Volunteer
Service Award

Deadline: Friday, April 9, 2021

Nomination Guidelines

Judson University is seeking nominations for the D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award, which is presented annually to the candidate who has contributed to the greater good within the greater Elgin community by voluntarily serving others’ physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual needs. This year marks the 18th Anniversary of the establishment of the D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award. 


Who Was D. Ray Wilson?

Seeing a need for a prayer breakfast in the Fox Valley area, D. Ray Wilson (1926 – 2003) established one at Judson University in 1989. Since Wilson was well known in the community for his tireless hours of volunteering, the D. Ray Wilson Service Award was begun in his honor after his death in 2003.  He spent much of his professional life in some area of journalism, serving as editor and publisher of The Courier News for 21 years.

"When my grandfather died in 2003, I spent some time helping clean out his office. He had accumulated a lot of plaques and awards for contributing to causes, many of which I had never even heard about. At one point we had to clean out his desk. In the top drawer there were the usual things you would expect to find in an office but there was also a short hastily scrawled note on a scrap of paper that said, ‘You are not the hand that holds the chisel. You are not the stone onto which the chisel carves. You are the chisel.’ I believe this phrase sums up my grandfather’s attitude toward volunteerism and charitable work." — Nick Salzmann, ’08 Judson Alumnus


The D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award will be given during Judson University’s Community Prayer Breakfast. The event will be held on Monday, May 10, 2021, from 7:30 to 9:00 a.m. on Judson's campus and follow safety protocols. 

The candidate must: (1) be an individual, not organization; (2) live and volunteer within the greater Elgin community (Elgin, West Dundee, East Dundee, Carpentersville, Sleepy Hollow, South Elgin, Schaumburg, St. Charles, Bartlett, Hoffman Estates, Barrington, Wayne, Streamwood, Hanover Park, Plato Center, Gilberts); (3) be nominated by a co-worker, relative or friend through the nomination form; and (4) be able to attend the Judson event. 

Nomination Deadline:

Nominations must be received by Friday, April 9, 2021.

    Submission Guidelines:

  1. Please submit your nomination using the form below or a print form received in the mail.
  2. Past award recipients are not eligible to receive the award. Previous nominees may be re-nominated; however, a current 2021 nomination must be submitted for consideration.
  3. Electronic submission of the nomination is highly encouraged.
  4. To submit your nomination via mail, mail to:

Judson University, ATTN: Julie Schmidt, 1151 N. State St., Elgin, IL 60123

Nomination Form

To submit a nomination for the D. Ray Wilson Volunteer Service Award, please provide the following information Friday, April 9, 2021.

Nominee Information:

Full Name:




Nominator Information:

Full Name:

Please submit the nomination by including the following information:

1. How long have you known the nominee? 


2. Where has the nominee volunteered? a. How long have they volunteered? b. What is the scope of their service to the greater Elgin community? c. Who has benefited from their service? d. How has their service contributed to the greater good of the community?


3. List significant achievements of the individual:


4. List past or present positions of leadership or responsibility


5. Additional comments and background material is welcomed


6. Other recommendations can be included (limit 3), but do not increase the chances of being awarded.


Nominate A Community Servant

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their service to the community? Nominate them for the D. Ray Wilson Community Service Award. We also have started a Bea Wilson Youth Service Award.

Previous D. Ray Wilson Award Winners

  • Jeorge Holmes, '20
  • Vivian Maly, '19
  • Keith Brill, '18
  • Henoch Fuentes, '17
  • Jeff Turner, '16
  • Velma Sept, '15
  • Dr. Risé D. Jones, '14
  • Mary Rees Freeman, '13
  • Edward Hunter, '12
  • Donna Anderson, '11
  • Nancy Schueneman, '10
  • Jack & Marlene Shales, '09
  • Trinka Waters, '08
  • Floyd Brown, '07
  • Murna Hansemann, '06
  • Dr. Clare Ollayos, '05
  • Carl Flaks, '04

Previous Bea Wilson Youth Award Winners 

  • RJ Green, '20
  • Kylee Siers, '19
  • Haley Wahl, '18

Judson University, Shaping Lives that Shape the World