Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award | Judson University Christian College
Prayer Breakfast Banner 2021

Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer
Service Award

Deadline: Friday, April 9, 2021

Nomination Guidelines

Judson University is seeking nominations for the Bea Wilson Youth Service Award, which was established in 2018 in honor of Beatrice Joy (Daffer) Wilson, wife of the former Judson Trustee D. Ray Wilson. The Award will be presented annually to the candidate who is a high school freshman through junior who has contributed to the greater good within the greater Elgin community by voluntarily serving others’ physical, emotional, intellectual or spiritual needs. The award will include a $3,000 scholarship annually for the winner to attend Judson University. 



The Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award will be given during Judson University’s Community Prayer Breakfast. The event will be held Monday, May 10, 2021, from 7:30 to 9:00 a.m. on Judson's campus and will follow safety protocol guidelines. 

Submission Guidelines:

The candidate must: (1) high school freshman, sophomore or junior; (2) live and volunteer within the greater Elgin community (Elgin, West Dundee, East Dundee, Carpentersville, Sleepy Hollow, South Elgin, Schaumburg, St. Charles, Bartlett, Hoffman Estates, Barrington, Wayne, Streamwood, Hanover Park, Plato Center, Gilberts); (3) be nominated by a teacher, supervisor, co-worker, relative or friend through the nomination form; and (4) be able to attend the Judson event. 

Nomination Deadline:

Nominations must be received by Friday, April 9, 2021.

  1. Please submit your nomination using the form below or a print form received in the mail.
  2. Past award recipients are not eligible to receive the award. Previous nominees may be re-nominated; however, a current 2021 nomination must be submitted for consideration.
  3. Electronic submission of the nomination is highly encouraged.
  4. To submit your nomination via mail, mail to:

Judson University, ATTN: Julie Schmidt, 1151 N. State St., Elgin, IL 60123

Nomination Form

To submit a nomination for the Bea Wilson Youth Volunteer Service Award, please provide the following information by Friday, April 9, 2021.

Nominee Information:

Full Name:

High School Grade:






Nominator Information:

Full Name:

Please submit the nomination by including the following information:

1. How long have you known the nominee? 


2. Where has the nominee volunteered? a. How long have they volunteered? b. What is the scope of their service to the greater community? c. Who has benefited from their service? d. How has their service contributed to the greater good of the community?


3. List significant achievements of the individual:


4. List past or present positions of leadership or responsibility


5. Additional comments and background material is welcomed


6. Other recommendations can be included (limit 3), but do not increase the chances of being awarded.


Nominate A Community Servant

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their service to the community? Nominate them for the D. Ray Wilson Community Service Award. We also have started a Bea Wilson Youth Service Award.

Previous D. Ray Wilson Award Winners

  • Jeorge Holmes, '20
  • Vivian Maly, '19
  • Keith Brill, '18
  • Henoch Fuentes, '17
  • Jeff Turner, '16
  • Velma Sept, '15
  • Dr. Risé D. Jones, '14
  • Mary Rees Freeman, '13
  • Edward Hunter, '12
  • Donna Anderson, '11
  • Nancy Schueneman, '10
  • Jack & Marlene Shales, '09
  • Trinka Waters, '08
  • Floyd Brown, '07
  • Murna Hansemann, '06
  • Dr. Clare Ollayos, '05
  • Carl Flaks, '04

Previous Bea Wilson Youth Award Winners 

  • RJ Green, '20
  • Kylee Siers, '19
  • Haley Wahl, '18

Judson University, Shaping Lives that Shape the World